Decisions, Decisions, Decisions

With grad apps due in a few months, I decided to hold back grad school for another year. After prayerfully evaluating my heart, I personally do not think I am spiritually ready to apply for the master of art’s  program in biblical counseling. While I was away from home for uni, I invested my time there but at the same time I was church hopping in San Francisco when I visited during the holidays. After church hopping for the first two years in college, I decided to finally commit to one church in San Francisco. However, because I spent most of my weekends in Merced serving in my college fellowship, I was unable to attend to weekly bible studies, church service, and even serve. But during the weekends when I did make the 2.5 hour drive to SF, I can say I feel super blessed by how much I’ve grown to love the church and the Word. I love my brothers and sisters in Christ at SFBC (& of course those in Merced & my church at Wolwang Gwangju, Korea Church<3).  The counselors of LIGHT have been encouraging and loving towards us college students. They do an amazing job and I wish I was home more to serve.

Being in Korea has been good, but it has been difficult to stay out of the spiritual slump due to the lack of community during the weekdays. Wow, I’ve already gone 7 months without having a bible study with others!  Moving back to the states in five months will give me the opportunity to finally serve at my home church and to grow with a community of believers. I think spending a more couple years in my hometown church will really allow me to form form stronger relationships with my brothers and sisters in Christ, develop a better understanding on the Word, and serve the church. I have so much growing to do, but I am reminded that His work in me is the effect of His grace.

Of course there are other reasons that contribute to my decision but this is the one that led to my decision 🙂

P.S Don’t get me wrong, I do love the church/fellowship in Merced and Korea!  I have grown so much from the times we’ve fellowshipped, attended Bible studies, and gone to church, but San Francisco will always be my hometown church.

One thought on “Decisions, Decisions, Decisions

Leave a comment